#Day 1087: Confessionals

Mother, forgive me;

I fell in love with a poet.

He teased my mind and swam

Under my skin, woke me from within

And burnt my fear of emotion.

Mother, forgive me;

For I have sinned, but

He smiles like the Cheshire cat,

And maybe a little like Mona Lisa;

I never really know what he’s thinking.

Mother, forgive me;

But his hands are always stained,

Splattered with ink all over

And when he touches my face,

I shiver and welcome his words.

Mother, forgive me;

He reads to me when I’m awake,

His voice is like yours, when

You sang to me at night,

Only a lot closer to my face.

Mother, forgive me;

For I have sinned.

I fell in love with a poet

And he wrote about me, for me

And now his words are my Gospel.

4 thoughts on “#Day 1087: Confessionals

Leave a Reply

