#Day 916: Standstill

Two words can drive life to a stopover
Six letters initiate a standstill,
I briskly walk away from possibilities;
Bearing in my hands a chance I could take,
Fiddling with choices I’m being forced to make.

My feet fumble and I trip over
My face is in the sand, my eyes flutter.
I’m helped up by strangers,
Dusted off and nudged into a walk;
Slowly making my way around-the-clock.

They look at the little scratches on my palms
And heal the insignificant cuts on my skin
But can you see what’s burning inside of me?
Can you cool down the unforgiving fire,
Bring rest and peace to the question in me.

Two words brought my life to a stopover,
Now I’m wondering about all that has-
Brought me here, to this brink, to the edge.
Six letters initiate a standstill,
And I shout out into this noisy void;

“What if?”

One thought on “#Day 916: Standstill

Leave a Reply

