#Day 758: No Mirror

I’ve carried a bit of weight
On my hips and my thighs
Right since I was a teenager
And it’s been a while from when
I’ve felt like putting on a dress
And walking in a six inch high heels.
But it makes me weak in the knees
That I truly didn’t need to get into
A towering pair of footwear
To feel tall in my own skin.
I speak now of not my weight
Or height or my face
But of only things that
You can’t really measure at all.
It has taken me a few years
To come to see myself
In a mirror that somehow
Does not show me only
Everything I’ve dreaded
But shows me, in fact
All that I hope grow to be.

2 thoughts on “#Day 758: No Mirror

Leave a Reply

