#Day 619: Thresholds

All I remember of that night
Is stepping out into the rain.
Because leaving all that you’ve been
And all that had been behind
Takes pieces of you by the minute.
For it had taken a huge part of me
As I packed up my life
And walked out on them
That one night in July.
I didn’t imagine that I’d reach here
That someday the threshold
I would sit on and play
Would be one I’d cross.
My books were in my duffel
I had little or no cash on my being
I wish I had left on a better night
For the storm is cracking down on me.
But I remember another little detail
From when I shut the door behind me
Is that she opened it again
And handed me a raincoat
Because she knew
How much I hated the rain.

Leave a Reply

